First They Killed My Father

Original Release: February 18, 2017 (Cambodia) and September 15, 2017 (Worldwide)
Directed by: Angelina Jolie
Written by: Loung Ung, Angelina Jolie
Produced by: Angelina Jolie, Rithy Panh, Ted Sarandos, Michael Vieira
Running Time: 136 minutes

Loung Ung is 5 years old when the Khmer Rouge assumes power over Cambodia in 1975. They soon begin a four-year reign of terror and genocide in which nearly 2 million Cambodians die. Forced from her family's home in Phnom Penh, Ung is trained as a child soldier while her six siblings are sent to labor camps.

Cast & Characters

Sareum Srey Moch (Loung Ung), Phoeung Kompheak (Pa Ung), Sveng Socheata (Ma Ung), Tharoth Sam (Khmer Rouge Leader)

Photo Gallery
Filming Dates: 2016
Filming Locations:
  • Battambang, Cambodia
  • Based upon Angelina Jolie's friend, the author Loung Ung's self biography.
  • Full title of the film is "First They Killed My Father: A Daughter of Cambodia Remembers".

Project navigation